Picture
When I first began this journey, it was an adventure into a culture I had only read about in books - folktales and history were all I had to go on.  Origami made Japan come alive in ways that even visiting the Morikami museum hadn't.  If anything, the museum gave me a context to understanding, but origami have me an intellectual appreciation for the culture - its patience, dedication and beauty.

So, what the Master said mattered to me.  However, very little was written about her and at that time (1990), the Internet wasn't being used to gather information like you would read an encyclopedia.  All I really had to go on was her books. So let me give you the quote and biography that captured my heart:


"If you share the joy of origami with your friends, pack these boxes with some little gift and the circle of origami lovers with their happy smiles will spread like the ripples on water." 

"Tomoko Fuse is the author of Origami books.  She studied the art of ofigami from Master Toyoaki Kawai in 1970.  Since then, she has been creating new origiami works."

-- "Origami Boxes," Chikuma Shobo Publishing, 1989




Leave a Reply.